Can we be Organized and Spontaneous?

In my blog post about being spontaneous (my half-marathon) I was talking about being organized. To many, like me, that concept just goes straight over our heads and is a confusing mess we’d rather not deal with. Sound familiar? If it doesn’t, I salute you and envy you a lot. However i suppose the rest of us are all stuck in the same boat but sometimes i feel like it’s sinking under all the pressure we face in our day-to-day lives.

The sad truth now is if someone is organised, they’re often perceived by people to have a perfect life where they know exactly what they want to do and have large dreams which will be achieved. Yet, that’s probably not what it’s like: everyone has problems. I think the sooner we as a society can accept that, the quicker we can stop being so controlling. Sometimes you will have a day where your head just isn’t in the game and no work gets done then another day you won’t feel like making your house tidy and that’s normal. We are just humans and we will naturally learn with time what works to keep us on top of our shit but not over obsessively.

“Organization isn’t about perfection. It’s about efficiency, reducing stress & clutter, saving time & money, & improving your overall quality of life.” – Christina Scalise

This can lead to people getting stuck in routines which can be useful but when it comes to being spontaneous, maybe not. Everyone – including me – has definitely said no to experiences due to the fact it would disturb a clean and precise routine that is slowly destroying our natural, spontaneous nature. Between writing my blog posts I also find myself tiresomely planning what I’m going to write next although when i get time to write i often find myself not using any plan. I just go with what i’m feeling at the time because i don’t want to write something i’m not feeling passionate about at the time. This makes the task a bit more difficult but overall it’s much more enjoyable for me and hopefully the reader.

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits to organisation as it helps reduces stress, clear your thoughts and help with well-being but that’s just common knowledge. To me, I find bullet journals FASCINATING, don’t get me wrong, the amount of planning is insane but i think the concept of it makes a lot of sense. It may take a long time to set up but once ready it can produce detailed analytics which is very practical in this modern society. We are so used to reading data on the daily, this method has become a more practical way of documenting our life instead of writing a diary for instance. If this is the first time you’ve heard of a bullet journal and you’re curious like i was, these are what some general layouts look like:

Do you have a morning routine that works well for you? New post on the blog about trying to work these things in this next week. Link in the bio!: Planning made easy! Plan your water consumption with this insert for any size planner! This insert is laminated, so it can be written on with:

For #2017, I decided to try the #yearinpixels mood tracker that @passioncarnets did last year. Hers looked so fantastic that I wanted one too! And it'll be interesting to see how my mood shifts throughout the year. Day 2 of the #planwithmechallenge. • Supplies I used: - Staedtler Pigment Liners - Staedtler Triplus Fineliners - Tombow Fudenosuke Brush Pen Twin Tip - Nanami Crossfield notebook: 231 Likes, 21 Comments - Meg (@maplebujo) on Instagram: “My future log for my new bullet journal! I am so in love with botanical line drawings these days.…”:

Even though bullet journals like these may seem like a lot of work, they can be customized to create the perfect balance between being spontaneous and organised. I think these things are positive however if over done it can mean missing out on possibly life changing opportunities.

Here are some websites I feel could be useful: 

https://possibilityofchange.com/being-organized/

http://littlecoffeefox.com/2016/06/12/how-to-start-your-very-own-bullet-journal/

http://elitedaily.com/life/never-say-never-10-regrets-spontaneous-people-dont/

http://www.stylist.co.uk/life/how-to-be-spontaneous

What do you think about being spontaneous or organizing? Which is more beneficial to you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

